Who will be eligible for the NDIS?

Eligibility for the National Disability Insurance Scheme (NDIS) depends on the nature of your disability or mental illness, your age, where you live and your citizenship status.

You may be eligible for the NDIS if you:

  • have a disability, condition or impairment that is permanent, and that means you usually need support from another person or from equipment to do everyday things
  • are aged under 65
  • live in an area where the NDIS is available, and
  • are an Australian citizen, permanent resident or hold a Special Protected Category Visa.

To check your eligibility, use the NDIS Access Checklist on the NDIS website.

If you already access funded disability and/or mental health supports, you will be on the Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS) list for transition. When the NDIS is available in your area you will be contacted. If you have recently moved or changed your phone number, please contact DHHS to update your details.

If you have not received funded disability or mental health support before, you will need to register to access the NDIS. To register you will need to complete an access request form which is available by calling the NDIS on 1800 800 110.

UnitingCare lifeAssist can support you to access the NDIS by assisting you to collect the information you need, complete forms and set up online systems such as a MyGov account.

Contact us for assistance to register for the NDIS.

Phone: 1300 ASSIST (1300 277 478) and ask for the NDIS team
: ndis@lifeassist.org.au


For further information about the NDIS in Victoria, visit the NDIS website.